Dewa Sanzan in Yamagata Area

About Dewa Sanzan

Dewa Sanzan, also known as the Three Mountains of Dewa, are three sacred mountains located in the Yamagata area of Yamagata, Japan. The three mountains are Mount Haguro, Mount Gassan, and Mount Yudono. These mountains have been considered sacred by the Shinto religion for over 1,400 years and are a popular destination for pilgrims seeking spiritual enlightenment.

Mount Haguro

Mount Haguro, with an elevation of 1,414 meters, is the easiest of the three mountains to climb. It is also the most popular among tourists. The mountain is known for its 2,446 stone steps that lead to the summit. Along the way, visitors can see a five-story pagoda, a 600-year-old cedar tree, and the Gojuto, a group of five large trees that are over 500 years old.

Approximate latitude and longitude: 38.7103° N, 139.9842° E

Mount Gassan

Mount Gassan, with an elevation of 1,984 meters, is the highest of the three mountains. It is also the most difficult to climb due to its steep and rocky terrain. The mountain is only open to climbers from July to September. At the summit, visitors can see the Gassan Shrine, which is dedicated to the mountain's deity.

Approximate latitude and longitude: 38.4225° N, 140.3708° E

Mount Yudono

Mount Yudono, with an elevation of 1,504 meters, is the most sacred of the three mountains. It is believed to be the home of the god of death and rebirth. Visitors are not allowed to climb the mountain but can visit the Yudono Shrine at the base of the mountain. The shrine is only open to visitors from May to October.

Approximate latitude and longitude: 38.6964° N, 140.3231° E

How to Get There

The nearest airport to Dewa Sanzan is Yamagata Airport. From there, visitors can take a bus or train to Tsuruoka City. From Tsuruoka City, there are buses that go to each of the three mountains. Visitors can also rent a car and drive to the mountains.